Autism testing at a glance
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Free option | First Steps (under 3) or your school district (3 and up) evaluates for services at no or low cost. |
| Medical diagnosis | The three DMH autism centers, or a private psychologist using the ADOS-2. |
| Referral | Cardinal Glennon and WashU require a physician referral. Ask your pediatrician first. |
| Wait | No St. Louis center publishes one. State data showed more than 100 children waiting at each big center in 2022. |
| Cost | Insurance or MO HealthNet at many centers. Private pay from $1,500 at one practice. |
| Latitude | ADOS-2 testing with local pediatricians, by referral. After a diagnosis, ABA at our Bridgeton ABA center or St. Peters ABA center, ages 2 to 6, no waitlist. |
Is there free autism testing in St. Louis?
Yes, through the public programs, and they do not need a doctor's referral. The CDC: "You do not need to wait for a doctor's referral or a medical diagnosis to make this call."
- Under 3: First Steps, Missouri's early intervention program, evaluates babies and toddlers for services.
- 3 or older: your school district evaluates for special education. In 14 St. Louis County districts that is SSD Early Childhood.
The CDC says these publicly funded programs serve eligible children "for free or at reduced cost." They decide eligibility for services. For insurance-funded ABA you still need a medical diagnosis.
Where can you get an autism evaluation in St. Louis?
Missouri's Department of Mental Health names three St. Louis autism centers that "provide diagnosis, treatment and training." Private practices also test.
| Provider | Ages | Referral | Insurance | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Knights of Columbus Developmental Center, SSM Health Cardinal Glennon | Not stated | Physician referral required | Not stated | 314-577-5609 |
| WashU Autism Clinical Center | Not stated | Physician referral form required | "Several health insurance plans"; call to check | 314-286-1700, option 2 |
| Mercy Kids Autism Center, Chesterfield | Not stated | Not stated | Check with your insurer | 636-898-2060 |
| St. Louis Autism Testing Center (private psychologist) | 16 months and up | Not stated | Aetna, UnitedHealthcare, Cigna, Anthem/BCBS, Ambetter, Missouri Medicaid; or $1,500 self-pay | 314-557-9797 |
| Miriam Learning Center | 2 to 18 | Not stated | No insurance; private pay | 314-961-1500 |
| Easterseals Midwest (EarliPoint eye-tracking test) | 16 months to 8 years | Not stated | Not stated | 1-800-200-2119 |
| MU Thompson Center, Columbia | Not stated | Referral form, from a parent or a provider | Most insurance, including Medicaid | 573-884-6052 |
Read from each provider's own website. Mercy says it can "evaluate your child for autism spectrum disorder and talk through the results with you the same day." Miriam says it is generally able to schedule testing within a month of a referral.

What is ADOS-2 testing?
The ADOS-2 (Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule) is a play-based autism assessment, used from about 12 months to adulthood. St. Louis Autism Testing Center, Miriam and the Thompson Center name it. Miriam uses rating scales instead for some milder cases.
Latitude offers ADOS-2 testing in partnership with local pediatricians, by referral. Read about our ADOS-2 diagnostic partnership.
How long is the wait for autism testing in St. Louis?
Long at the big centers, and none of them publishes a number. Clinicians at Cardinal Glennon and SLU wrote in Missouri Medicine (2024): "Wait time for autism evaluation commonly exceeds a year."
They named the cause: "Shortage of qualified diagnosticians is the main factor contributing to the long wait time."
Missouri's six autism centers had a median wait of 110 days for children 4 and under, and 230 days for 5 and older, in state fiscal year 2021. DMH says the centers "prioritize timely appointments for children under 5."
Average number of children waiting during state fiscal year 2022 (July 2021 to June 2022). Children under 5 made up 484, 166 and 106 of them.
Source: Missouri DMH autism program description, FY2022 table (Missouri Office of Administration).
How do you get a toddler tested for autism?
- Screening at 18 and 24 months. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends all children be screened for autism at their 18- and 24-month checkups.
- Tell your pediatrician what you see, such as eye contact, social communication or repetitive behaviors. The CDC says: "Don't wait. Acting early can make a real difference!"
- Ask for a referral to a specialist. The evaluation process for an autism diagnosis usually starts there.
- Get the written report. Every report includes recommendations you will need for therapy and insurance.
- 18 and 24 monthsAutism screening at well-child checkups.
- If you are worriedTell your pediatrician what you see.
- ReferralTo a state autism center or a private psychologist.
- EvaluationOften including the ADOS-2, a play-based assessment.
- ReportRecommendations you need for therapy and insurance.
Start First Steps or a school evaluation at the same time. They need no diagnosis.
Does a school evaluation count as a diagnosis?
No. A school decides on an educational diagnosis for special education. For insurance-funded ABA, MO HealthNet requires "a diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder by a physician or psychologist."
Private practices differ on credentials. One St. Louis practice notes that in Missouri an LPC or LCSW "can not medically diagnose." Ask any provider whether its report will meet your insurer's rules.
How much does autism testing cost?
- With insurance or MO HealthNet: the Thompson Center says its evaluations "are covered by most insurance programs, including Medicaid." St. Louis Autism Testing Center is in network with six plans, including Missouri Medicaid.
- Private pay: St. Louis Autism Testing Center lists $1,500 for children. Miriam takes no insurance.

What can you do while you wait?
- Start First Steps or the school evaluation now, as above.
- Speech therapy often does not need to wait for a formal diagnosis, the CDC says. Ask your pediatrician for an order.
- Get on more than one list. Ask each center about its referral rules and cancellations.
After the diagnosis: ABA at Latitude
Once your child has a diagnosis and an ABA referral, our centers take ages 2 to 6 with no waitlist. Insurance approval sets the start date; the process typically takes 4 to 6 weeks. Call intake at 314-410-9670.
Sources
Every fact on this page was read on the source's own page. Outside sources are not affiliated with Latitude.
- Missouri DMH: Missouri Autism Centers
- Missouri DMH autism program description (Office of Administration)
- Braddock et al., Improving Access to Autism Evaluation, Missouri Medicine 2024
- SSM Health Cardinal Glennon: Knights of Columbus Developmental Center
- Washington University Autism Clinical Center
- Mercy Kids Center for Neurodevelopment
- St. Louis Autism Testing Center
- Miriam Learning Center: Autism Testing
- Easterseals Midwest: Diagnosis Services
- MU Thompson Center: Referral
- Open Arms Wellness: Autism Testing
- CDC: Concerned About Your Child's Development?
- CDC: Accessing Services for Autism
- HealthyChildren.org (AAP): Autism
- MO HealthNet: Diagnosis Requirements for ABA Services
- SSD Family Handbook, Section 2: Evaluation

